Area Catholic schools represented in 2018 Kohl Foundation honors

By The Compass | March 28, 2018

GREEN BAY — Seven representatives of Catholic schools in the Diocese of Green Bay are among the 2018 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Program award winners. The awards are presented to 100 teachers and their schools, 16 principals and their schools and 191 graduating high school students from the state of Wisconsin.

“The Catholic Schools office is delighted to announce the 2018 Kohl awardees from the Green Bay Diocese,” said Franciscan Sr. Kay Klackner, consultant to Catholic Schools. “We are proud of the achievements of our students, teachers and principals. Their accomplishments highlight the daily and continued quality Catholic education provided by our schools. Congratulations to each awardee. We are blessed to have such hard-working individuals represent the quality education found in our Catholic schools in the Diocese of Green Bay.”

Two students from Roncalli High School in Manitowoc will receive $10,000 college scholarships as “Student Excellence Winners.” Macy Dueno and Evan Mihalakakos have “demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.”

Kevin Kroeger of Roncalli High School and Noah Johnson, St. Mary Catholic High School, Neenah, will also receive $10,000 scholarships as “Student Initiative Winners.” Recipients, chosen by their schools, “have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.”

Two teachers from schools in the diocese are “Kohl Teacher Fellowship Winners.” Kelly Carter of Lourdes Academy High School, Oshkosh, and Abby Linwood of St. Clare School, Wrightstown, have been chosen for their “superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.” Each will receive a $6,000 personal award and $6,000 for her school.

Mike Mauthe of St. Francis Xavier High School, Appleton, was recognized for “Excellence in School Leadership.” Recipients of this new award are school principals honored for “setting high standards for instruction, achievement and character and for creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff and community.” Mauthe will receive a $6,000 personal award and $6,000 for the high school.

Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held in April. Herb Kohl will attend all luncheons and present awards to recipients. For more information, visit www.kohl


Related Posts

Scroll to Top