Parishes will welcome newly initiated at Easter Vigil

By The Compass | April 18, 2019

GREEN BAY — Parishes around the diocese will welcome new members into the church on April 20 at the Easter Vigil. These newest members, called catechumens and candidates during their preparation time, have taken part in the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA).

On the first Sunday of Lent, they were enrolled in the Book of the Elect at their parishes. They were presented to Bishop David Ricken at a special Mass later in the day.

Catechumens are those who will be baptized and also receive the sacraments of confirmation and Eucharist at the vigil.

Candidates are those who have already been baptized, whether in the Catholic Church or in another Christian denomination. They will make a full profession of faith and receive confirmation and/or Eucharist in the church at the vigil.

After the Easter Vigil, the newly-initiated — who will then be called neophytes — enter the final stage of the RCIA process: mystagogia.

Mystagogia is marked by the new experiences of sharing in the sacraments and in full participation in the community.

Following are the catechumens and candidates whose names were submitted by parishes to the diocesan Office of Worship.


St. John Parish: Candidates: Wendy Henke, Daniel Jahnke, Nicholas Sinkler


St. Bernard Parish: Catechumens: Maiong Chang; Candidates: David Starr, Jody Wilson

St. Joseph Parish: Catechumens: Keegan Coulter, Elijah Grover; Candidates: Bonnie Petrie, Lydie Pfefferle, Dean Timm

St. Pius X Parish: Candidate: Isaiaah McGovern, Joshua Arthurs, Kelsey Geiger, Javier Gonzales, Nancy Jimenez, Lucas Johnson, Justine Wozniczka

St. Thomas More Parish: Catechumen: August Dittberner


St. Martin of Tours Parish: Candidates: Leticia Cruz, Leslie Jarchow, Samantha Leiser, John Peplinski, John Peplinski, Jr.


St. Rose Parish: Catechumen: Joshua Bradshaw; Candidates: Haley Behnke, Jordan Eustice


St. Paul Parish: Candidate: Kendra Rios


Our Lady Lourdes Parish: Candidate: Stephanie Skroch

St. Francis Xavier Parish: Candidate: Carson Combs

St. Mary Parish: Catechumens: Steven Jeantet, Michael Michalski


St. Nicholas Parish: Candidate: Sally Van Camp


Nativity of Our Lord Parish: Catechumen: Nicholas Schneider; Candidate: Adam Hoppe

Prince of Peace Parish: Catechumen: Katie Van Rite; Candidates: Crystal Clements, Cullen Testolin

St. Agnes Parish: Candidate: Jordan LeMay

St. Bernard Parish: Catechumen: Nick Brunette; Candidate: Brandon Willms

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Parish: Candidates: Ethan Potts, Matthew Prill

St. Jude Parish: Catechumen: Windy GT Lee

St. Willebrord Parish: Catechumens: Alexis Berumem, Caitlin Joski, Marta Molina-Valle, Yaniel Ramirez, Yarielis Ramirez, Karla Valle; Candidates: Reynaldo Estupinian, Christian Martinez, Cirilo Martinez, Jesus Martinez, Maribel Martinez, Colleen Strebel

UWGB Catholic Campus Ministry: Candidates: Sarah Andersen, Corey Musarnick


St. Mary of the Immaculate Conception Parish: Catechumens: Henry Collins, Judd Pulley; Candidates: David Brooker, Amy Collins, Justin Collins, Marc Kruger


St. John the Baptist Parish: Catechumens: Andrew Goldston, Jacquelyn Schubring, Joshua Vandenbush; Candidates: Heidi Lemke, Marc Lemke, Michelle Ross, Mark Schick, Lillian Schmidt, Geoffrey Stenson


Holy Rosary Parish: Catechumen: Jeanette Greco; Candidates: Adam Kolmorgen, Steven Schmidt


SS. Peter and Paul Parish: Candidate: Lee Ann Herzog


Holy Spirit Parish: Candidate: Lauren “Sissy” Mertens


St. Patrick Parish: Catechumen: Mary Burdick; Candidate: John Burmeister


St. Francis of Assisi Parish: Catechumens: Derek Jones, Bobbi Meier, Matthew Mills


St. Gabriel the Archangel Parish: Catechumens: Monte Jimenez; Candidates: Dustin Klitzke, Tobin Larsen, Dustin Whaley

St. Margaret Mary Parish: Candidate: Thomas Cedergren, Pamela Reinhold, Jason Glen Richter


Holy Rosary Parish: Candidate: Morgan Willhelm


St. Thomas the Apostle Parish: Catechumens: Anabel Garcia, Michael Longmeyer, Yareli Velazquez, Anabel Velazquez; Candidates: Alejandrina Sarinana, Bill Schmidt


Holy Trinity Parish: Candidates: Stephanie Deveners, Zachary Weigelt


St. Mary Parish: Catechumens: Liliana Falcon, Ruben Falcon, AndyBoi Hernandez, Fox Hernandez, Ashleigh Kloiber; Candidates: Evelyn Alvarez, Carols Maruez, Estephania Vargas, Melissa Wiedemeier


Most Blessed Sacrament Parish: Candidate: Gary Baumann

St. Jude the Apostle Parish: Catechumens: Jazz Bennett, Steven Gust; Candidate: Griffin Reese


St. Mary Parish: Candidate: Jennifer Knox


St. Paul Parish: Catechumen: Michelle Butler


Sacred Heart Parish: Candidates: Clint Anker, Marie Chiminatti, Scott Flaig, Allison Popovich, Donna Smith


St. Peter the Fisherman Parish: Candidate: Kim McMahon


St. Mary Parish: Candidate: Melissa Wiedemeier

Related Posts

Scroll to Top